Ivonnardona’s Creations Place!

A Place For All To Come & Share!

Human Touch Designs

Posted by Ivonnardona on 04/09/2008

This interview is about a very talented jewelry maker, Human Touch Designs.  I love her work and I believe you will find her to be very interesting, as well as multi-talented.  Enjoy!

Garden of LoveTell me a little bit about yourself. 

My name is Lisa Human.  I’m a 29-year old wife and mom to a wonderful 9-year old son named Kaige.  While I’m a full-time Administrative Assistant by day, I find time for my true passion of jewelry making during the evenings and weekends.  I am the Owner and Designer for Human Touch Designs. 

Tell me a bit about your background and how long you have been an artist/crafter. 

I was born and raised in Michigan City, IN, the eldest of four children to a longshoreman and housewife.  I have been crafting since I was very small, and besides various elementary school art projects, I grew to love crafting in all of its shapes and form with the guidance of my grandmother.  Over the course of the past 15 years, I have worked in needlework, crochet, knitting and scrapbooking.

What is the first thing you can remember making by hand?

How and why did you make it?  With the assistance and guidance of my Grandmother, I created a small framed puppy dog needlework piece.  Together, we framed it and gave it to my father as a gift, and now the piece hangs proudly in my own living room.

What inspires you? Where do your ideas come from? 

I find inspiration in many things – nature and my own color preferences are probably the strongeGreen Florast of these. 

What are your favorite materials? 

I really love the sparkle of fire polished Czech glass and use it quite often in my work.  Lately, I’ve been working with more natural stones and lampwork beads.

What is your favorite color? What colors are you drawn to? 

My favorite color is pink, and I tend to be drawn toward pastels.  For those days when I’m feeling spunky, I tend to be drawn to brighter, louder colors – cobalt blues and shades of fuschia.

If someone were looking to take up a craft, what advice would you give them?

Find something that you truly enjoy, something that can inspire you and others.  The most important thing would be to love what you do!

What is your area of interest in crafting? What do you specialize in? 

I specialize in jewelry making, with a very strong emphasis on custom bracelets.

What would be your top 5 tips for a beginner?  

Research, Network, Practice, Learn and Ask a lot of questions – there are so many wonderful resources at ouSpring Flingr fingertips with the internet these days.

What would be your top 5 items of essential equipment?

For jewelry making, my top five would be my notebook for sketching inspirations and ideas, my pliers (round-nose, chain-nose and crimping!), my beading board, my computer (for all of my research) and lots of beads!!!

Can you recommend a technique or ‘tips’ book ideal for a beginner?  

None specifically, but definitely look into all of the great messageboards and groups online – there are a ton of resources online.

Can you recommend any brands to look out for, when buying equipment or kit?   

Lindstrom pliers really are worth the extra money – they are comfortable and durable!

Do you sell your work, or is it purely for pleasure? 

I sell my work

What is your Etsy shop address and name? Where else can we find you? 

My etsy shop is located at http://www.humantouchdesigns.etsy.com – You can also find Human Touch Designs online at http://www.humantouchdesigns.com and http://www.humantouchdesigns.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

 
